wake up aroma

Today I want to thank my lovely Aunt Susan for giving me her espresso machine. It is wonderful–once I figured out how to use it.

I was trying to steam milk without making any espresso first, and it did not work at all. I had to keep refilling the chamber with water to keep steam coming into the frothing pitcher. It was a mess too, because water was leaking everywhere. Then I thought: you know what? I probably have to make espresso at the same time! And I was right.

The water chamber takes longer to filter though the coffee, providing enough steam to heat both the espresso and the milk. Who would have thought? So I made my first vanilla cappuccino today. It is a little on the sweet side for me, but until I go grocery shopping for more soy milk, it will work just fine for my caffeine fix.

I also want to thank my equally lovely Aunt Laurie for giving me the ever-thoughtful gift of a coffee press. It too, is pretty wonderful, and always has been. I actually like using this coffee press better than my coffee machine…

I am going to ignore the fact that I have so many coffee related mechanisms and just tell you that I am blessed with great family and great coffee.

Thoughts:

I want to be a servant of God and people today. I just want to forget myself and be of service to others, with Jesus as my safeguard to my heart and mind. I want to honor him with all of what I do, even if it’s making coffee–thanking him and praising him for all the gifts he gives and never allowing any of those gifts to turn into enemies. Today food is a gift, time is a gift, classes are a gift and the internet is a gift! The Lord will be pleased when I use all of them to give back and serve.

Also…it’s a beautiful day for a run…

One thought on “wake up aroma

  1. As I read your post, I am at Coffee Hound sipping a freshly brewed cuppa with Liesl at my side. This coffee seems purely pedestrian vis-a-vis that which you may muster with your newfound apparati and acumen. Appreciate your heart for the Sacred Romance. Hope to see you at reading group.

Leave a Reply

