I am content

First of all, my bible is getting worn out. I mean really. It’s pretty much falling apart.

Second of all, Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead he devises ways so that the banished person may not remain estranged from him. –Samuel 14:14

I have been finding that most of the important people in my life right now need to hear that. And that includes myself.

I also have been reading Philippians and have found that most people in general need to read deeply and sip on this reading:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus… whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think about such things…I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned th secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

I have been deeply convicted. I an so easily discontented by meaningless factors: the weather, what I dreamed about, the soy milk on my cereal got soggy, I forgot to buy cooking spray, I don’t feel like going to class, I don’t have time to run today, I over slept by a half hour so now I can’t be slow this morning … stupid things.

I have been anxious. Anxious about good things. Which I know, does not make sense.

I have started to become very anxious about my internship and about Dennis’ tour which I’ll be going on…. about moving, and about running races and driving long distances. These are all things which I have worked to make a part of my life and I am baffled at my sudden resistance to their implementation into the approaching now.

How often to people do this? They begin to make things happen for themselves, then freeze up, becoming afraid of success or of their prayers to be answered. They get used to failure, boredom, and discontentedness.

Today your servant knows that he has found favor in your eyes, my lord the king, because the king has granted his servant’s request. -Samuel 14:22

These are all beautiful occurrences and happenings that should make me rejoice–NO! Correction: which I want to rejoice about! I want to get loud and celebrate!

MY FIRST CLASS IS OVER!

I’M 22!

I JUST BOUGHT A PAPER CUTTER THAT I HAVE WANTED FOR A MONTH!

DENNIS IS COMING TO VISIT TOMORROW!

I GOT A FREE CUPON FOR NOODLES AND CO!

I AM ROCKIN’ MY RED PIG TAILS!

GOD IS SO GOOD TO ME!

Life is wonderful…

I learned to be content getting sore while running 15 miles in 2 days.

I learned to be content walking home in the cold rain.

I learned to be content with dirty feet—all summer.

I learned to be MORE than content taking photos of my beautiful fiancé.

“Peace and Love all!”

One thought on “I am content

Leave a Reply

