Focused & Loving It: My Spiritual Circle Jouranl Posting

Go read about my cover on the link at the bottom of the post!

Go read about my cover on the link at the bottom of the post!

I’ve been journaling since I was a little kid. Before I could even read, I was asking my mom to write gorgeous words on paper so I could copy them down in my notebook to look at. I loved words. Something about them enticed me. It was years later that I found this was one of God’s precious gifts to me – words. His Word, to be exact. But also, my own words.
 
After I learned to write those beautiful words myself, I would scrawl long prayers in notebooks, returning to them over and over to praise Him, to ask for forgiveness, or to receive guidance. But revisiting those words involved rifling through pages, trying to find the verse I needed or what God spoke to my heart during my long rants and raves with the pen and ink. In short – it was very time consuming.
 
It was then that I discovered the Spiritual Circle Journal. With nine beautifully simplistic circles, and a blank page on top, I had the freedom to write wildly while using the circles to bring order. This made it easy to go back and find important things I had written. If I wanted to see what God had been convicting me of, I’d glance back at the “Confession” circles. If I wanted to check on my obedience, I’d study the “Action” circles to see if I truly was doing what God was asking of me. No more searching frantically through past journal entries. I had nine circles with prompts to help focus our time together.
 
I soon personalized the cover, a feature I greatly appreciate. There is something truly poetic about a cover that you designed yourself. It indicates ownership and a dedication to the words you write inside. My cover is a collage of magazine clippings and drawings I pasted there with a glue stick….
 
To read the full post, please visit Liz Lassa’s Spiritual Circle Journal Blog.
Leave a Reply

